Client Reviews

Displaying 
  Client Reviews

Nancy and David Ment


Trip Review: Everything worked beautifully from the moment we arrived in Cape Town until we left to return home. All the arrangements and accommodations were exactly as planned. Yvette planned two previous safaris for us ten and twelve years ago. This time we wanted to take our granddaughter and knew we could count on Yvette.

Most Memorable Moment: Following a pack of wild dogs over several days.

Advice For Future Clients: Stick with a trusted planner like African Portfolio.


June 2024

Laurie Dray


Trip Review: We had a wonderful experience working with African Portfolio. They created and adjusted an itinerary based on our interests and budget and were available to answer any questions. The places we stayed and activities we participated in were amazing and would have been very difficult to put together without their help. They provided immediate support while we were traveling when questions arose. We highly recommend them and will use them in the future.

Most Memorable Moment: There were so many especially when out on drives that it is hard to state just one.


April 2024

Ashley Hulsey


Trip Review: The whole itinerary was great. It reflected our priorities and was structured beautifully. We enjoyed every bit of it!

Most Memorable Moment: The lion pawing inside the buffalo near Little Machaba and the completely relaxed leopard resting in the tree by his dangling impala.

Advice For Future Clients: Go, and before your back goes!


April 2024

Lianne Noddle


Trip Review: All the details of the trip were incredible. We loved the two safari experiences. All the transfers and guides were amazing. We used African Portfolio for our first trip to Africa. They did such an amazing job that we used them again!!

Most Memorable Moment: The evening that Linkwasha prepared the BBQ in the bush.

Advice For Future Clients: Enjoy Africa!!!


March 2024

Samantha Herrera-Fletcher


Most Memorable Moment: Camp Xakanaxa with (our guide) Monty. We saw 10 female lions get a warthog in camp!

Advice For Future Clients: Patience. Monty told us Safari is like a futbol game.


March 2024

Cathi Zilling


Trip Review: Victoria is my go to whenever I'm thinking of another trip to Africa. I just need to tell her the area I wish to visit or something I hope to see and I leave the rest up to her expertise. I'm sure I have a few more trips in the future.

Most Memorable Moment: I could never pick just one, but here our my top 5 choices in no particular order- 1- Any and all experiences with the gorillas, especially watching the baby climbing on the silverback and when the lead silverback and other males leapt from lounging to chase a buffalo and brushed right past us. 2-Having a second troop of golden monkeys challenge the troop we were standing with and having a chase scene play out with us in the middle. 3-Seeing young cheetahs jump onto the jeep in front of ours and lounge on the open top. 4- Seeing a male lion lay in the shade of our jeep after a recent buffalo kill. 5- Watching the grazing of thousands of zebras during their migration.

Advice For Future Clients: Every safari is different and this one was as well. Each day is a new adventure. You never know what is going to happen or what you will experience. Something unexpected could be around the next tree or rock and you always think it can't get better than this, and then it does. Cheetahs leaping on a jeep, lions cooling in the shade of your truck, gorillas brushing past your shoulder, baby wildebeest with the zoomies. An Africa safari is an adventure you can't afford to miss!


March 2024

Laura Allen


Trip Review: Vanessa from African Portfolio put together an epic adventure for our 25th wedding anniversary! We had been to Africa twice before (including our honeymoon) so I didn't think this trip could compare to our previous experiences. Oh my, how wrong I was! We stayed at 4 camps (2 each in Tanzania and Kenya) and were blown away by the accommodation, guides and overall experience. I normally organize all of our trips but it was a relief to leave the details to Vanessa and it was executed perfectly!

Most Memorable Moment: The biggest surprise and highlight for both of was staying at AndBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas. It was our last camp and after staying at very luxurious properties I was initially dismayed upon our arrival. However, each game drive was exceptional! The hospitality was equal to if not better than the luxury tents. I was teary when we left - it was the most memorable place we've ever stayed.

Advice For Future Clients: Use insect repellent! I came home covered in insect bites!


March 2024

Kenneth Davis


Trip Review: Fantastic adventure from start to finish. All details worked to perfection or at least as perfect as could be expected. After all ”this is Africa “

Most Memorable Moment: Arriving at our second mobile tent camp and having giraffes and zebras walking around in comp. Amazing!

Advice For Future Clients: Be ready for long days riding in the safari trucks on very bumpy roads.


Traveled To:
February 2024

Debbie Claussen


Trip Review: I really didn’t know what to expect; but the whole experience exceeded my expectations. Loved the people (especially the guides), lodgings country…and, of course, the animals.

Most Memorable Moment: No one moment…just everything.

Advice For Future Clients: Be prepared for long days.


Traveled To:
February 2024

Erin Swain


Trip Review: Absolutely loved this trip!

Most Memorable Moment: Having a leopard look me in the eye right next to our truck. I’ll never forget it.

Advice For Future Clients: Don’t worry about getting there, just go!


Traveled To:
February 2024

Suzette Sells


Trip Review: Our journey was well planned, giving us the opportunity to see two entirely different areas of South Africa. The Kalahari desert provided a unique variety of wildlife, then we experienced the lush area of Sabi Sands. Victoria also planned a wonderful visit in Cape Town, a must see if you're going on safari in South Africa. We are so glad we turned to African Portfolios for this once in a lifetime adventure (although, we may have to return to Africa after our experience).

Most Memorable Moment: Our bush walk tracking a cheetah and her 3 cubs; our hearts were racing as we trailed along behind.

Advice For Future Clients: If your budget allows go for private safari drives.


Traveled To:
February 2024

Karen Halkovic


Trip Review: I was very pleased with all of the attention to detail. The travel docs that were sent as well as on line were very helpful. After a long traveling day the fruit in the hotel was a very welcomed touch. I can't speak highly enough about African Portfolio and look forward to our next trip with them.

Most Memorable Moment: My birthday celebration and cake at Sand Rivers. Being so close to the elephants-that was a real treat for me.

Advice For Future Clients: Go with African Portfolio. Don't over pack travel light. Bring a very good camera and a lens at least 500mm- 600mm.


Traveled To:
January 2024

Eileen Fischmann


Trip Review: All of our arrangements went very smoothly and your on site travel partners were excellent and very responsive.

Most Memorable Moment: Sitting on my patio at Lion Sands, watching a family of elephants eat their lunch 15 feet from me.

Advice For Future Clients: If you can, spend the money for a truly luxury safari experience.


Traveled To:
January 2024

Giovanna Weller


Trip Review: This was a life-changing experience. Yvette at African Portfolio divided our vacation into three perfect adventures - Cape Town, Sabi Sands, and Bazaruto Island. The four days at each location was perfect and we are so glad we had such an experienced travel planner.

Most Memorable Moment: The game drives at Simbambili.

Advice For Future Clients: Plan to stay in northern Africa or Europe at end of vacation to break up flight. Also, if you are on the fence about booking such a huge trip, DO IT!


December 2023

Beth Richardson


Trip Review: Vanessa did a fabulous job in setting this trip up. She listened to what we were interested in and provided valuable feedback.

Most Memorable Moment: We thought every day was wonderful. Each night we wondered how it could get better, and each day was better! Our most favorite moment was our gorilla trekking!

Advice For Future Clients: Do it!


December 2023

Plan Your Safari
1 Your Trip
2 About You