Client Reviews

Displaying 
  Client Reviews

Linda Epstein


Most Memorable Moment: Since this is our 5th trip it's always an experience to be in the bush with the animals. Did see a lion being chased by a herd of elephants.

Advice For Future Clients: Be patient while in the bush.


Traveled To:
December 2022

Lisa Pickell


Trip Review: We all had a great time!

Most Memorable Moment: The people. Just amazingly warm and wonderful.

Advice For Future Clients: Be ready to move around and wait a lot on travel days.


December 2022

Dru Berkett


Most Memorable Moment: All of it.

Advice For Future Clients: Go!


November 2022

Barbara Lee


Trip Review: Every guide and staff members were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment: The animals, the gorillas. Hard to say, it was all different and wonderful. We did go to the Ndare forest in Lewa which was a different experience.

Advice For Future Clients: Bring more cash than you think. I wanted to tip generously and individually as well.


Traveled To:
November 2022

Kate Anthes


Trip Review: It was a pleasure working with Victoria to arrange our trip around South Africa! It was easy to communicate and coordinate the perfect trip. Everything was flawless, from lodging and tours to all of our transfers.

Most Memorable Moment: Our time at Kambaku, watching a pride of lions on a giraffe kill just outside the lodge.

Advice For Future Clients: Be sure to put down your camera or phone and really take in what you are seeing and experiencing.


Traveled To:
November 2022

Ted Taylor


Trip Review: It was the trip of a lifetime!

Most Memorable Moment: Seeing the wild dogs hunt the antelope and start a huge stampede.

Advice For Future Clients: Sleep on the plane.


Traveled To:
November 2022

Angela Booth


Trip Review: We had a great safari... as stress free as could be!

Most Memorable Moment: We were blessed with multiple crossings of huge herds of Wildebeest and Zebra... it was INCREDIBLE! Every day in Africa is special ❤️

Advice For Future Clients: DO IT!


Traveled To:
November 2022

Tim Gullicksen


Trip Review: Excellent food, fantastic staff at all the camps, and white glove treatment from the very start.

Most Memorable Moment: Watching a pride of lions (7 cats) trying to get a porcupine out of a hole.

Advice For Future Clients: Take 1 flight out of Africa. Transfers in Africa at the end of our trip (when we had nobody to help us) were cumbersome, time-consuming and redundant.


November 2022

Lisa Picconi-Townsend


Trip Review: Absolutely Incredible! Beyond what we could have ever imagined.

Most Memorable Moment: Gosh.....Everything. We had the opportunity to stay in the Chakley Treehouse in Lion Sands, That was a dream!!!!

Advice For Future Clients: Use African Portfolio, pack less (should've listened to Victoria) 🙂 get ready for the long flight....enjoy!


Traveled To:
October 2022

Julie Zanze


Trip Review: Incredible experience. All of it!

Most Memorable Moment: Feeding the orphaned elephants in Victoria Falls. Truly all the animals were fascinating to see!

Advice For Future Clients: Go to South Africa! And see all of the different areas as we did!


October 2022

Mark Abdy


Trip Review: We saw some excellent wildlife to include multiple sightings of Wild Dogs, various prides of Lion, several Leopard, four different Cheetah, breeding herds of Ellies and Buffalo, and some Rhino (even a Black Rhino at a distance). Plus all the expected plains game. The food was great -- with Executive Chefs cooking for us at the safari lodges! The logistics worked perfectly with no transfer or flight issues. Thanks to Vanessa and African Portfolio for organizing another very successful safari!

Most Memorable Moment: Spending 45 minutes or more in the middle of a pack of Wild Dog puppies (21!) - watching them play, be corralled by their baby sitters, and generally learning the skills they'll need as adults.

Advice For Future Clients: It'll be more than one word ......"Don't put it off!". Some species are getting much more difficult to see and the longer you wait, the more challenging it will be to see them (eg: Rhino & Wild Dog). Also, safaris do require that you be able to climb in/out of a safari vehicle several times a day, and the less flexible you are, the more challenging this becomes.


Traveled To:
October 2022

Wendy Tucker


Trip Review: This is our third trip with African Portfolio. As with the other two everything was perfectly coordinated and all aspects of the trip exceeded our expectations.

Most Memorable Moment: Being lucky enough to see a crossing at the Mara River of the Great Migration which is truly difficult to describe in words or photos. It is a life or death drama of nature. We rejoiced when a baby zebra and an older wildebeest finally made it long after the others!

Advice For Future Clients: If you can spend some time enjoying the incredible accommodations. We took one day off and let ourselves truly appreciate Kuria Hills-our fantastic tent and the gorgeous views.


Traveled To:
October 2022

Tobi Erskine


Trip Review: I thought Kirkman’s Kamp was a well oiled machine. Everything ran smoothly and the atmosphere was welcoming and very fun!

Most Memorable Moment: There are so many to choose.

Advice For Future Clients: I would check the weather at each place and dress accordingly.


Traveled To:
October 2022

Todd Cato


Trip Review: It was absolutely exceptional. Vanessa did an incredible job. In fact, it was the best trip we have ever had. The first time I have been on a worry free vacation and just completely enjoyed myself. The experience was beyond first class.

Most Memorable Moment: The wildlife and wonderful people. Everything was exceptional and it’s hard to jut pick one experience.

Advice For Future Clients: Use African Portfolio!


Traveled To:
October 2022

John Christian


Trip Review: I have traveled to many beautiful places in the world, including the Greek Islands, Tuscany, Ireland, Central America and Canada. My trip to Africa was by far the highlight of all of my travels!!! Yvette and her staff after assessing my wants and desires for this trip came up with the perfect combination of adventures and cultural experiences. I have been asked now by several of my friends, what was the best thing that I did? There were so many highlights that I don't have an answer. The best one was letting African Portfolio plan the trip for me.

Most Memorable Moment: I have been asked this question several times by my family and friends. I swear, there were too many highlights to pick just one. If push came to shove I would say, hanging over the edge of Victoria Falls in Devil's pool, what a rush!!! I also would like to mention the wonderful friendships that I made with my fellow travelers. I traveled the whole month on my own and never felt alone.

Advice For Future Clients: Be specific on what you would like to do and listen closely to the suggestions of the experts that have blazed a trail for you. They may surprise you.


October 2022

Plan Your Safari
1 Your Trip
2 About You